The John W. Kirklin, MD Award for Professional Excellence

The John W. Kirklin, MD Award is jointly awarded by the AASPA and the Association of PAs in Cardiac Surgery. It is the premier award for our profession, being awarded about 15 times in 20 years. Our selection board consists of Gerald Simons, PA-C and Robert Sammartano, PA-C.


Nominations should be made to the Kirklin Award Committee through either the AASPA or APACVS national office.

Nominations must include:

  • Full name of nominee, address, CV, and practice setting
  • Nominators contact information
  • Detailed letter of nomination (stating the candidate’s qualifications) from a Fellow of the AASPA or APACVS

Nominees do not need to be members of either the AASPA or APACVS. They must be noted for their contributions to the PA profession, be of irreproachable character and exhibit the highest standards of excellence in professional clinical practice. Nomination is a very significant honor from one’s peers.

Effective in 1998, at the invitation to the AASPA Board of Directors, the Kirklin Award Committee is comprised of joint members from the AASPA and APACVS.

Read More

Student Scholarship Awards

The AASPA is proud to offer scholarships to deserving PA students who are interested in a career in surgery. It is one of just many benefits that we offer to our student members. The Association awards at least one $1,000 scholarship yearly to students in either their didactic or clinical year. Winners also receive complimentary registration to the AASPA CME Meeting.

AASPA Scholarships, Deadlines & Eligibility